Look into their eyes

It’s struck me recently how much time people spend on mobile devices. Checking their Facebook, Instagram, Twitter…..and the rest. All these transient, insignificant sneak peaks into other people’s lives. People you barely even know.

When was the last time you really looked into someone’s eyes? Someone you think you know. When did you last share a brew (or a beer) and open yourself up to them or let them open up to you? Probably a while ago.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m no technological abstainer. I have my eyes down with the rest of them. However, I always take time to look around me. Take in the people I meet, try to work out their stories or try to help if they need me to. I’m no stranger to the human spirit. I know it needs nurturing, soothing and expressing. Just no one seems to be interested. Sometimes I cry out to be heard, but I’ll not post it online. I wait for someone in the real world to notice or, better, I turn to those I trust and ask for support. Isn’t that normal? Apparently not as Everyone’s so wrapped up in themselves and their transience that they can’t live in the moment or actually give a shit. You should scroll less and BE more.

All I’m saying is to take some time….call that friend you’ve been meaning to catch up with, look into your lover’s eyes and ask them what’s up, give someone a hug and a chance to vent. THAT is human nature and THAT is what’s important. Try not to forget.

Light and love, people. Mimi cat xox

Leave a Reply

