Never give up…..

Image

My mum bought me this card last year. It was at a particularly difficult time in my life, when I was questioning nearly everything I had grown to understand and trust as true in the life I was leading. It really made me think and has almost become my mantra ever since.

It is obviously true to say that everyone experiences hardship in their lives. Whether it be financial hardship, poor health or loss, we have all experienced it at one time or another. Some of us seem to suffer more than most, however. I know that I have met people who sail through life and always seem to be in the right place at the right time (even if they don’t deserve it) and others, like me, who suffer at almost every turn. Don’t get me wrong. This is not a pity party of one I’m starting. It is just the acknowledgement that life is different for everyone. On my better days I truly believe that the harder life seems the more rewarding it can be.

That seems like a strange statement to make and I know that I have tired of the hurdles and uncertainties of my own life on more than one occasion, but I also know that when I’ve experienced something positive it feels really well deserved. Continuing to fight for the life you want, in spite of negativity and barriers, is the most rewarding thing a person can do. It is when you lose the fight that life loses all of its potential rewards. I don’t believe in making your own luck or any of that nonsense. I believe that good fortune is hard won and should never be expected or taken for granted. Those of you who always get what you want and live an amazing, lucky life are not living a truthful existence UNLESS you have fought for it. I honestly believe you need to experience true misfortune to be able to appreciate true fortune.

My fortune is my family. Without them I probably wouldn’t try as hard as I do to keep jumping the hurdles that my particular life throws at me. They are my backbone, my solace and my most trusted counsel. They are ceaseless in their belief that I will “get there in the end” as I have so much to offer and always offer encouragement and a reality check when I need it the most. My sister and mum are always on hand to instill a sense of perspective in me when I’ve lost sight of what’s important. They are family in the true sense of the word. Pulling together when it is the most necessary, and yet natural, thing in the world for them to do. They have never shielded me from the harsh realities of this world, but have done their best to prepare me for the hard knocks of life and have always, always been there to pick up the pieces, even when I’ve gone against their wishes. Not expressing disappointment or passing judgement have been essential tools they have incorporated into their roles as caregivers, even when they probably feel those emotions internally at times.

That being said, I have to live my life on my own and face things that I don’t want to face at times. I will have to struggle and learn throughout my entire life, but knowing I have had the best start to life and the best support network is my most treasured possession. This all may seem a little obvious, but it’s sometimes important to recognise the things we can’t control in our lives that make us the luckiest….and the richest. Family is one of those things.

Light and love, people. Mimi Cat xox

Leave a Reply

