Happiness is…..

Image

 

There’s an advert on television at the moment where the narrator asks what it means to be happy. It is a very interesting question and one that has no right or wrong answer. Happiness means so many different things to different people. There are those for whom it means a fleeting moment of intense joy, others who are happiest when they are with people they love and then there are those who are unsure if they have ever been truly happy. These are the more interesting answers that people can provide.

I think it is fascinating to understand the human mind. It is something I know very little about and struggle to understand on a regular basis. How can we all be considered human beings when we all feel such different emotions and struggle to understand the emotions of others?

If you think about it, when was the last time you felt truly happy? That’s probably the toughest question you’ll be asked today as it has no singular answer. There is no formula to work out or tangible evidence to suggest that at this moment, on this date, you felt happiness. It is merely how your memory lets you believe this was what happened. For me, the last time I was happy (as an adult) was when the following things happened:

  • I was sat at the Basilica, in the sunshine, whilst living in Lyon and I remember thinking “this is my life. I can do anything with it” and I felt blissfully happy
  • I walked out of various loveless relationships
  • I snuggled my puppy on the sofa while she fell asleep
  • I stroked my cat, concentrating on his contented purrs until I felt at peace

These are all such different experiences of happiness and yet they all felt as powerful as each other, at that moment. I think, in all honesty, happiness is what you make of it and nothing else. There’s no mystery to it. It isn’t a tangle of emotions waiting to be untangled by knowing fingers. It is yours, alone, even if you experience it with someone else. Neither of you will feel exactly the same thing within that moment. For those of you who think they have never or will never again feel happiness, know this. Happiness is like beauty – it is in the eyes of the beholder. Sometimes you may look back on your life and realise how much happier you were once compared to now. We probably all need to stop worrying about being happy and just BE. When I’m miserable I know I’m the only one who can change that. Stop concentrating on what you don’t feel and concentrate on what you DO feel. Then you can make better decisions on what you need to change about yourself or your life to be the person you want to be. Knowing yourself can be happiness enough.

Light and love, people. Mimi Cat xox

Leave a Reply

