When I grow up…..

Recently I seem to have written a lot of retrospective posts. Posts about how I expected my life to be and things I still have the power to change. It may be obvious that I’m turning 30 this year, however, it also got me thinking on a less deep level. Having watched ‘Despicable Me’ several times over the past year (it seems to forever be on ITV!!) one of the scenes struck a chord – when Agnes prays for a lovely family and happiness and then ends it with “and a pet unicorn” before singing the above unicorn song. It really reminded me of me when I was little. I used to wish for the most bizarre things, knowing, on some level, that I would never get those things, but still having hope that I MIGHT! How I would love to be that innocent again…..so I’m going to try. On many levels I still haven’t grown out of that childlike mentality that the things I wish for may never come true, but that doesn’t stop me from wishing them in the first place.  I also adore all things unicorn (Yes, I AM aware they are a mystical creature that only have a place in fairy tales, but that’s part of the charm).  I have decided that this childlike quality is actually an endearing one and not weird. Unicorns have many things going for them that we could maybe incorporate into our adult lives.

43335331

Unicorns have a radiant, spiralling horn on their foreheads and are often represented in books in pastel shades. They are by no means your average animal. They strive to be different. They strive to be fabulous, unique and just a teensy bit feisty (you wouldn’t want to mess with something with a horn so beautifully dangerous!) I have always loved the idea of dress-up. The idea that you can be anything you want to be and wear anything you want to. However, dress-up is just for that period of time, that party or event. Then you have to go back to your real life and be serious, sensible and take responsibility for your actions. BORING! Why not add a bit of unicorn to your life every day. OK, so I don’t mean you should dress like this every day (though my hair is going to be like this by the end of the week):

41aa71fe492b9b2334b1586b71e764c2

BUT….you can add a splash of colour and mystery to your life whenever you want to for as long as you like. Even if you just wear bright coloured or patterned undies then at least YOU know you’re being a rebel, even if noone else does. I think my point is that it is all about your attitude that can affect the person you are and how you are perceived. I’m definitely perceived as a big kid, but that means that people see me as fun, quirky and a little bit outrageous. Those who know me, though, also know that these qualities are what make me so creative and good at what I do for a living. They also know that I can be relied on and sensible when it is required of me. I think being mulit-faceted (like a diamond….ba-boom!) is probably the best unicorn quality one person could have. Let’s all try to be a bit more unicorn and stop feeling weighed down by the pressures of life and trying desperately to define yourself. There’s no need…..you can be as many versions of yourself as you like whenever it is required. Just know that, whatever you do/however you do it, do it with a big:

il_570xn-252025064(Headband by Janine Basil at Etsy)

I can’t wait for my custom Unicorn dress to be made by the wonderful Eustratia – more on this when it arrives! Light and love, people. Mimi Cat xox

2 thoughts on “When I grow up…..

  1. 2014 – the year of the Unicorn! I have just bought some pink hair dye and i can’t wait to use it! Make sure you post a pic of your unicorn hair when it’s done!

Leave a Reply

