Staying true to the real you

Image

I think I was the same as everyone when I decided that 2014 would be my year of big changes. It is, after all, the year when I will turn 30 – a hugely daunting process as this means that I have to reassess every aspect of my life and show some commitment to my life choices. The big ‘C’ word scares the hell out of me, but why? Isn’t it about time we all showed some commitment to the things that are important to us? I spent most of 2013 being too trusting, too open and too naive. I let too many negative people into my life who ended up hurting me immeasurably. However, I learnt a lot of valuable lessons and the main one was to be more true to myself. It is only by doing this that we can become the best versions of ourselves. Stop putting off until tomorrow that which can be done today.

Last year I started a book and got really into it before putting it aside once life got in the way. I also made a promise to myself that I would make  more of an effort with my appearance, do more exercise, drink less…..all until I got a new job, new puppy, etc etc. Excuses that are shamefully preventing me from being true to myself.

No more! The time is now and the changes are already happening without me realising it. Just getting this blog sorted is a huge stepping stone. Last year I was writing for a collective blog, but always wanted one of my own and did’t think I had time, patience or enough of interest to say. Well, now I think I do.

I’ve jumped into 2014 with a bang. It wasn’t just a case of getting new hair or a few new clothes. It was a case of changing my mindset and the people around me. Gone are the negative weights of the people who brought me nothing but stress and second guessing and in are the positive vibes and realising that if I want to wear leggings with cats on sometimes, do a little dance while I wait for a bus or leave the house without makeup on then noone that I care about and who cares about me will judge me. Each to their own and my own self is a pretty damn good self to be.

The excuses are gone, the book is back ON and I’ll be posting snippets of it on here, along with cute animations by my fabulous partner in life and love, Mr B. The man who has definitely allowed me to know who the real me is more than anyone else and embraced every single idiosyncrasy that adds up to this soon to be 30 year old woman. The woman who finally holds her head up high and is going to pursue those dreams that have been within her grasp for too long, but that she didn’t know she had the ability to achieve.

Light and love, people. Mimi Cat xox

Leave a Reply

